The Newest: Aretha Franklin wins Pulitzer special citation

The Latest about the Pulitzer Prizes (all times local):

3:35 p.m.

Aretha Franklin was given an honorary Pulitzer Prize, cited for her career.

Pulitzer judges also given Richard Powers’ innovative book”The Overstory” the fiction prize and termed David W. Blight’s 900-page”Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom” the best work of background.

On Monday, the biography prize went into Jeffrey C. Stewart’s”The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke,” along with the play award to”Fairview,” by Jackie Sibblies Drury. Eliza Griswold’s”Amity and Prosperity: One Family and the Fracturing of America” won for overall nonfiction, also Ellen Reid’s cinema”de I s m” for music. The poetry award has been awarded to Forrest Gander’s elegiac”Be Together.”

Franklin, who died is the first girl singled out for an Pulitzer, which has been awarded to John Coltrane and Bob Dylan .


3:30 p.m.

A group of Associated Press journalists has won a Pulitzer Prize agendas torture, graft and starvation in the savage civil war of Yemen.

Videographer Maad al-Zikry, photographer Nariman El-Mofty and reporter Maggie Michael spent discovering atrocities and affected in Yemen.

In a string of tales, they told while officials distracted food aid, of how individuals in portions of Yemen were reduced to eating leaves.

Reuters acquired for global reporting for work that price two of its staffers their freedom light by security forces on a brutal crackdown on Rohingya Muslims in Buddhist-majority Myanmar.

Reporters Wa Lone and Kyaw Soe Oo are currently working out a seven-year sentence after being convicted of violating the country’s Official Secrets Act. Their fans say both were framed in retaliation for their coverage.


9:10 a.m.

The latest winners of the Pulitzer Prizes in fiction and the arts are set to be revealed.

This year’s honorees will be announced Monday at Columbia University in New York.

The journalism awards will recognize exceptional work in 2018 by U.S. papers, magazines and internet outlets. There are 14 classes for animations, photos, criticism, commentary and reporting.

Arts decorations are awarded in seven categories, including fiction, drama and music.

The very first journalism awards were given in 1917, and they’ve come to be considered the field’s most prestigious honor in the U.S.

The competition was created by newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer.

A gold trophy is received by winners of this service award. The other awards carry a prize of $15,000 each.